Contact Home Home

News & Photos

Michael Andrew AO, Chair, Board of Taxation, 18 Feb 2016


Michael Andrew AO, Chair, Board of Taxation addressed a private boardroom event for 22 business executives where guests engaged in a discussion about “Taxation Reform: taking a business and broader community perspective”. This SME Executive Boardroom lunch was proudly sponsored by Herbert Smith Freehills.

The Board of Taxation is a non-statutory advisory body charged with contributing a business and broader community perspective to improving the design of taxation laws and their operation.

The Board is tasked with advising the Treasurer on improving the general integrity and functioning of the taxation system and commissioning research and other studies on tax matters approved or referred to it by the Treasurer.

The Board currently comprises of 11 members, eight of whom have been appointed from the non-government sector. There are three ex officio members — the Secretary to the Australian Treasury, the Commissioner of Taxation and the First Parliamentary Counsel.

Michael Andrew was appointed Chairman of the Board of Taxation in January 2015.

Mr Andrew, was Chairman and CEO, KPMG International from May 2011 to July 2014. He is the first Australian CEO of one of the “big four” accounting firms and the first to be based in the Asia-Pacific region. A partner in KPMG since 1988, Michael practiced in Tax Law and was Partner in Charge of KPMG Tax Practice 1995-2000 and was Partner in Charge of KPMG International Tax Centre in Amsterdam from 1992-1994. Michael was Chairman of KPMG Asia-Pacific and Chairman, KPMG Australia from 2007 until 2011.

Mr Andrew is a former member of the Business Council of Australia and the International Business Council of the World Economic Forum.



Proudly sponsored by:


Send this photo to a friend 1 of 1 Image(s)